What is trial mode and how to put the till in the mode
Trial mode is for when you want to test how to use the till, but not have your test sales' information saved. When in trial mode, no information is synced to the back office.
We recommend, that once you are familiar with the till, that you deactivate trial mode (from the back office > Users > Staff) so that it can't be used accidentally.
Staff accidentally using trial mode is one of the leading causes of flagged sales and can cause payment discrepancies and reporting errors if misused.
If you use trial mode accidentally for real sales, there is no way to recover this information.
How to put the till in trial mode
You can put it in trial mode by tapping lockout at the top right and entering in the pin 8888.
If this pin doesn't work, then check that trial mode hasn't been disabled or overwritten in the back office by going to Users > Staff. If it isn't in the list, you can create it by putting the name as Trial and the pin as 8888.
Once in trial mode, a yellow triangle should appear at the top of the register. Any transactions you now process won't be recorded.
Please note that in this mode the email receipt function will not work - it will instead give a message indicating that the email has been sent to the queue, but it will not send.
How to take the till out of trial mode
Select lockout and then enter in your normal staff pin. The default pin is 1234, but this can be changed from the back office by going to Users > Staff.